MPP Yakabuski Announces More Financial Relief for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke

Funding will help ensure local government avoids operating deficits in 2021

PEMBROKE — Today, John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke announced that his riding will receive an additional $1.46 million in Safe Restart Agreement funding. The discretionary funding will be used to offset operating costs for critical services and help ensure that these municipalities do not carry an operating deficit into 2021.

“This funding will provide our community with the support it needs to continue delivering critical services that we all rely on everyday,” said MPP Yakabuski. “Today’s announcement will help our municipalities develop a 2021 budget that reflects the reality of COVID-19 and give them the confidence they need to proceed with capital projects that will drive economic growth.”

The funding is allocated as follows:

Township of Admaston/Bromley will receive $20,000.

Town of Arnprior will receive $51,000

Township of Bonnechere Valley will receive $230,000

Township of Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan will receive $18,000

Town of Deep River will receive $24,000

Township of Greater Madawaska will receive $33,000

United Townships of Head, Clara and Maria will receive $12,000

Township of Horton will receive $21,000

Township of Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards will receive $22,000

Town of Laurentian Hills will receive $21,000

Township of Madawaska Valley will receive $39,000

Township of McNab/Braeside will receive $39,000

City of Pembroke will receive $159,000

Town of Petawawa will receive $85,000

County of Renfrew will receive $557,000

Town of Renfrew will receive $49,000

Township of South Algonquin will receive $37,000

Township of Whitewater Region will receive $43,000

The Ontario government is allocating an additional $695 million across the province to provide financial relief for municipalities and help ensure they do not carry operating deficits into 2021. This investment builds upon the first phase of the federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement announced this summer.

“This joint funding will help Ontario’s municipalities recover from the impacts of COVID-19 faster, by helping them to enter into 2021 without operating deficits from this year,” said Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. “By ensuring our municipal partners are in a sound financial position to begin the new year, they can better focus on keeping their capital projects on track while continuing to provide the critical services their residents rely on.”

Of the $695 million announced today, $299 million is being allocated across all 444 municipalities to help provide more financial relief, as 2021 operating budgets are finalized. An additional $396 million is also being allocated to 48 municipalities that have been hardest hit by COVID-19 and who have demonstrated a need for additional assistance in covering their 2020 operating deficits.




Leave a comment