KHR holds inaugural meeting

KILLALOE – Two new faces have officially joined Killaloe-Hagarty-Richards Township council.

On December 1, Councillors Ted Browne and Brian Pecoskie were sworn-in to council, alongside incumbents John Jeffrey, Debbie Peplinskie, Carl Kuehl and Stanley Pecoskie.
Browne replaces Isabel O’Reilly, who ran for the position of mayor but was unsuccessful. Brian Pecoskie beat Kathy Marion in the October 27 election.

The new councillors will be under the leadership of long-serving Mayor Janice Visneskie Moore, who was undefeated despite a three-way race in the township.

On Monday morning, each member of council took the Oath of Allegiance and signed the Declaration of Elected Office. Following this, Mayor Visneskie Moore congratulated all members of council and took some time to familiarize the new councillors with issues facing the township.

Visneskie Moore also encouraged Browne and Pecoskie to contact her if they have any questions about their new positions.

“I will do whatever I can to make your transition into this job as painless as possible,” she said. “I am sincere in my offer.”

Get your December 3, 2014 edition of The Valley Gazette to read the full story.